ICIS Member, Dr. John O’Shea, Scientific Director of Intramural Research, Elected to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences

John O'Shea, M.D., NIAMS Scientific Director of Intramural Research - Photo Credit NIAMS

On May 2, 2023, NIAMS Scientific Director of Intramural Research, Dr. John O’Shea, was elected to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences at the conclusion of the Academy’s 160th annual meeting. This designation – considered one of the highest honors that a scientist can achieve – recognizes distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

In addition to this latest accolade, Dr. O’Shea has received numerous prizes, including the Howley Prize for Research in Arthritis, the Ross Prize in Molecular Medicine, the Millstein Prize from the International Cytokine and Interferon Society, the AAI-Steinman Award for Human Immunology, the ASCI-Harrington Prize, six NIH Director’s Awards, and election to the National Academy of Medicine. Dr. O’Shea has worked at NIH for more than 40 years, 18 of those as NIAMS Scientific Director.

More from the National Academy of Sciences: 2023 NAS Election (nasonline.org)